MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
1.78 7-1 104
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
May 19 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-4 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 13, ending the game with a 1.78 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 13 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Scherzer (7-1, 1.69 ERA) was slated to pitch Friday night and will now start Saturday night's game against left-hander Rich Hill (1-2, 6.20) after another rain out.
Analysis: Scherzer hasn't pitched since May 11 when he won at Arizona.
May 12 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 7-1, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 6 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 15, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 6-1, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-4 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.79 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 15-2 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-1, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Friday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.36 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-2 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.33 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 6:33 PM PT7:33 PM MT8:33 PM CT9:33 PM ET21:33 ET1:33 GMT9:33 6:33 PM MST8:33 PM EST9:03 PM VEN5:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-1, allowing two hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 2-0 on Monday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 0.90 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE2:23 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-1, allowing five runs - two earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-0, allowing five hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Ari 0 4 0 - 0 16 7 0 56.0 48 24 19 5 21 1 66 1.23 3.05
2009 Ari 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 170.1 166 94 78 20 63 1 174 1.34 4.12
2010 Det 12 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.2 174 84 76 20 70 1 184 1.25 3.50
2011 Det 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 207 101 96 29 56 1 174 1.35 4.43
2012 Det 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 0 187.2 179 82 78 23 60 2 231 1.27 3.74
2013 Det 21 3 0 - 0 32 32 0 214.1 152 73 69 18 56 0 240 0.97 2.90
2014 Det 18 5 0 - 0 33 33 1 220.1 196 80 77 18 63 1 252 1.18 3.15
2015 Was 14 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 176 74 71 27 34 2 276 0.92 2.79
2016 Was 20 7 0 - 0 34 34 1 228.1 165 77 75 31 56 2 284 0.97 2.96
2017 Was 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 126 62 56 22 55 2 268 0.90 2.51
2018 Was 7 1 0 - 0 10 10 1 65.2 40 16 13 5 16 1 104 0.85 1.78
Career 148 76 0 - 0 315 306 9 1962.2 1629 767 708 218 550 14 2253 1.11 3.25

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Ari 17 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .071 .000
2009 Ari 31 53 4 12 2 0 0 3 3 17 0 0 .226 .268 .264
2010 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2014 Det 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Was 34 69 4 15 0 0 0 0 2 23 0 0 .217 .239 .217
2016 Was 34 70 4 13 1 0 0 12 2 30 0 0 .186 .208 .200
2017 Was 31 62 4 10 0 0 1 5 4 16 0 0 .161 .212 .210
2018 Was 10 26 2 8 1 0 0 4 0 3 1 0 .308 .333 .346
Career 318 306 19 59 5 0 1 25 12 95 1 0 .193 .226 .219

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 15.2 15 10 10 1 9 0 14 5.74
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 1 1 0 4 0 7 1.23
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 11 9 9 1 5 0 7 9.72
2012 Det Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 17.1 12 5 4 1 4 0 26 2.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 1 0 0 1 0 8 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 2 1 1 0 2 0 10 1.59
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 7 3 3 1 1 0 8 4.26
2013 Det Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 22.1 12 7 7 1 11 1 34 2.82
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 6 3 3 1 4 1 13 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 6 4 4 0 7 0 21 2.70
2014 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
2016 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
2017 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
Career 4 5 0 - 0 16 13 0 82.0 60 37 34 8 31 2 100 3.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Was Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 16 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 543 97 90 93.8 51.37
Curveball 75 83 75 78.3 7.1
Slider 135 89 82 84.9 12.77
Changeup 163 87 81 83.3 15.42
Cut Fastball 141 90 86 88.1 13.34

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.


Home | Weather | Local | Nation Now | Traffic | Sports | Features | About | Video | Yourtake | Photos | Take 5 | Submit Photos & Video | Contact Us

All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices